Desert Highlights          Testimonials

Other Canyoneering Info:
• One Day Adventures
• FAQ
• Meet Your Guides
• Trip Reports
• Desert Highlights Home

In our Canyoneering Testimonials you can view the images and read the comments of our guests and guides as they journey through Moab's backcountry. The beauty of the area - with its spectacular canyon vistas and challenges along with the emotions they evoke - is presented for you to enjoy in your home or office.

The testimonials below may have been from some of your work mates, friends or relatives. They're likely from people you have no clue of. Then again, they might be from you! Finally, a very special thanks goes out to all our returning guests! Their fondness for sharing these beautiful canyons with us time and again is the greatest compliment we could ever hope for. Thank you!
Desert Highlights Logo
50 East Center St.
PO Box 1342
Moab, Utah 84532
(800) 747-1342
(435) 259-4433
www.deserthighlights.com
matt@deserthighlights.com

Granary Canyon ... April 14th, 2005
"Thank you for the awesome, fantastic and thrilling adventures we had canyoneering. You are a gifted guide and it shows. We'll be back!"

Timm Stone
Edmonds, WA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Tierdrop Canyon ... April 12th, 2005
"Desert Highlights was a great guide for our Arches National Park exploration. Matt was extremely knowledgeable and patient during our climbing and rappelling trip into Tierdrop Canyon. Our 6 and 9 year old daughters surprised us and themselves with what they could do with his expert guidance."

Curt and Ulla McGee
Menlo Park, CA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... April 11th, 2005

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Thank you for the awesome, fantastic and thrilling adventures we had canyoneering. You are a gifted guide and it shows. We'll be back!"

Timm Stone
Edmonds, WA

Entrajo Canyon ... September 9th, 2004

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Each one of us had an amazing time. I wanted to say that the tours were above and beyond my wildest expectations. Many thanks to you and Aron. I have not stopped talking about the trip to my fiancé. It was by far the best Bachelor party ever. All of us plan to come back for more. Be prepared, friends of ours are on their way."

Mark Kirby
Brooklyn, NY

Lomatium Canyon ... August 1st, 2004

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Well, we've been home a week and love sharing our stories with our family and friends. Our experiences while in Moab just can not be measured. It was truly a life changing trip."

Lucille D'Auria
North Bellmore, NY

Lomatium Canyon ... July 21st, 2004

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Karla and I keep talking about what a great time we had on our trip to Lomatium. We experienced Arches National Park in a way we never could on our own. Thanks!"

Dean and Karla Vecchia
Princeton, NJ

Tierdrop Canyon ... July 19th, 2004

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"I feel a need to write you following my journey into Tierdrop Canyon! I had anticipated my trip for several months and could not have been more impressed.

I would like to Thank You for sharing your patience and skill as you guided me through my first rappelling experience. I am still not quite grounded from the experience yet and am not sure I want to come down!"

Sharon Bonin
Apple Valley, MN

Lomatium Canyon ... June 8th, 2004

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Thank you to Aron for guiding our most pleasant day in Lomatium Canyon. The attached pictures cannot begin to express the joy my grandchildren, Sean & Lucy and I experienced as we got in and out of places I never thought possible. Thanks to Aron for his patience and skill in providing us with this wonderful experience. His knowledge of the area and skills in guiding made us feel very comfortable and safe at all times. At 68 years old, I never thought I would be able to enjoy this experience with my 10 year old grandchildren, but our day in the Canyon was truly the highlight of our week's trip to Arches and Canyonlands National Parks. Thanks again and I am already looking forward to my next visit to the Moab region."

Bill Facinelli
Hinsdale, IL

Lomatium Canyon ... June 5th, 2004

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"I wanted to thank you once again for our wonderful canyoneering adventure. Stephanie, Scott, Steve, and I all unanimously agreed that on a scale of 1-10, it was totally off the charts - by far the highlight of our vacation!!

The hiking, climbing, and rappelling were a blast and your unflappable patience, boundless knowledge, entertaining stories, and obvious enthusiasm made our trip one that we will talk about for years to come. Hopefully we will be able to come back again someday!

Thanks again for a fantastic time!"

Carol Bloomfield, Steve, Stephanie, and Scott
Cedar Hill, TX

Medieval Chamber ... April 15th, 2004

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Thanks again for a great trip yesterday. We all enjoyed the day very much and are looking forward to going out again with you on another adventure."

Bob Shea
Pahrump, NV

Tierdrop Canyon ... March 27th, 2004
"Hi Matt and Aron,

Just wanted to thank you for leading all of us (including Binky) through Tierdrop Canyon safely. It was a trip the whole family will be talking about for years to come. We have told everyone about you and hope your business continues to do well. We are looking forward to another trip."

Cindy DiChellis
Bountiful, UT

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... October 21st, 2003
"On behalf of T.R.A.I.L.S. we would like to take this opportunity to thank you and Aron for a great canyoneering trip. We had a wonderful time!

Your knowledge of the area added to our experience by offering more than just an adventure. The importance of good interpretation has been stressed to us throughout the semester and your skills helped us see how much it truly adds to the trip in a commercial recreation experience.

Canyoneering was a new adventure for all of us. Some of us were nervous, but your experience and technical skills made us all comfortable. We hope future T.R.A.I.L.S. groups will be able to have the same opportunity. Once again, thank you for a great experience!"

Anne Pagano
West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... July 17th, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hi Matt,

Just wanted to take a minute to thank you and Mike for making our second visit to Moab the most memorable. We've done a lot of biking and hiking on these trips but nothing compared to the challenge and exhilaration we experienced during our day with Mike in Lomatium Canyon.

My sons thought it was a thrill to complete some of the mountain biking trails we've been on until they dropped over the edge of a hundred foot plus canyon wall with a rope and harness. Mike was very good with the boys, educating them on the landscape and showing them how to chimney up into some tight places. We'll definitely include another trip with you on our next visit."

Doug, Mimi, Alan & Joseph Bergfeld

Tierdrop Canyon ... June 19th, 2001
"Hi Matt,

Once again my son Ryan and I had another great trip. We hope to make another trip in the future. It was, as always, exhilarating and fantastic."

Patrick and Ryan Monahan
Clearwater, KS

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... June 12th, 2001
"Our group ranged in ages from 52 to 14 and everyone was challenged and awed by the adventure.

If your life is dominated by office cubes, this trip is for you! Expansive scenery, physical challenge and scenery that you can't even imagine. - the pictures don't do it justice."

Kathleen Murphy
Columbus, OH

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... June 10th, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"What a great trip! Canyoneering was everything my son and I hoped it would be - challenging, beautiful, scary and secluded. It was also great to see parts of Moab we couldn't see on our own.

Mike offered us multiple side canyon hikes and we took him up on 'every' offer. We're still amazed at the things we did. The challenge certainly made it the most exciting adventure we've ever been on. Thanks for making it possible."

David and Christopher Kanne
Decatur, GA

Lomatium Canyon ... June 8th, 2001
"Hey Matt,

Thanks for a great trip - was a perfect ending to our annual "guys" trip."

Kirk Weir
Mt. Pleasant, SC




"Matt,

This was a great trip! The highlight of our week out west."

James Kennedy
Mt. Pleasant, SC

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... June 5th, 2001
"Matt,

I just wanted to say thanks for the trip we took last week. All of the boys talked about that more than anything we did the entire time we were in Moab. When we come back to Moab we will look you and Mike up for another trip.

We saw and did the most amazing things with you guys, none of us will forget the experience."

Scott Murray
Murray, UT

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Undercover Canyon ... May 27th, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hey Matt,

Thanks again for another wonderful canyoneering adventure! Hang on to Ed, he's fantastic.

As is usual with your destinations, Undercover Canyon proved to be spectacularly beautiful, refreshingly isolated and a terrific challenge for Phil, Traci and I. I thought that after rappeling off the arch on your Medieval Chamber adventure that there were no challenges left. I was wrong! Rapping through the notch on the first rappel, then onto and over the log in the second, and ending things up with the 140 foot drop of the third (after stemming down to the incredible launch platform) clearly showed that there's still lots to experience!

I'm eagerly anticipating the opportunity to come back and sample another adventure with you and your crew! Thanks again!"

John Saxe
Lakewood, CO

Lomatium Canyon ... May 26th, 2001
"Dear Matt and Mike,

Thanks for the most exhilarating adventure of my vacation. There is nothing that can compare to the magnificent sites and the adrenaline rush from rappelling off a canyon wall.

I enjoyed doing lots of activities while visiting Moab, but this was by far the best. You will definitely see me again in the future.

Mike, your knowledge of canyoneering, and guiding were superb, but most of all your wit and sense of humor made the trip even more enjoyable. Thanks again."

Adam West
Durand, MI

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Tierdrop Canyon ... May 25th, 2001
No Pictures, but... "Dear Matt,

My trip to Tierdrop will go straight into my "Lifetime Highlights." It was like a dream being in the beauty of the canyon.

Give my thanks to the Alabama Bomber Boys. Micheal is an excellent guide with careful technique and great geologic knowledge.

Thank you very much!"

Warren Stanek
Quebec

Lomatium Canyon ... May 21st, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Dear Matt and Ed,

You guys are simply wonderful! The trip to Lomatium Canyon was the highlight of our group's 10 days of biking and hiking throughout the Moab area. As one of the boys put it, and I quote, "That was the most fun I have ever had, anytime and anywhere!" You guys certainly left a strong impression and I just wanted to send you our heartfelt thanks.

And Ed, your knowledge and expertise as well as your ability to relate with the boys in our group was truly appreciated, I think it is because of you that our trip went so well. Thanks again."

Patrick Flynn
Lake Tahoe, CA

Undercover Canyon ... May 13th, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Dear Matt,

Peter and I had a terrific experience with your group. We have done quite a bit of adventure travel and know what the logistical challenges can be to make it come together. For us aging mountaineers, the challenges and exposure were perfectly suited, and Steve, Ed and Mike were all personable, reassuringly capable and flexible."

Bruce Donnally
Seattle, WA

Lomatium Canyon ... May 12th, 2001
"Dear Matt,

Peter and I had a terrific experience with your group. We have done quite a bit of adventure travel and know what the logistical challenges can be to make it come together. For us aging mountaineers, the challenges and exposure were perfectly suited, and Steve, Ed and Mike were all personable, reassuringly capable and flexible."

Bruce Donnally
Seattle, WA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... April 28th, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

I just got back home and wanted to let you know that the trip I took with Mike and the other two hikers, Mike & Lloyd from Florida, was one of the high points of my six week trip! This is saying a lot because the trip was pretty fantastic in general. Maybe I'll get a chance to come back and do another one with you all some time. I'd recommend this to anyone. Cheers!"

Erika Lockhart
San Francisco, CA

Medieval Chamber ... April 27th, 2001
"I have to say that the canyoneering trips were the best hiking trips I have ever done. I was nervous about the challenges, but I feel wonderful having "made it", albeit slowly!

I truly appreciate Matt and Steve's patience with a beginner like me. Josh and I definitely feel that the canyoneering helped us see the more remote and secluded--and beautiful--places in the area. Thanks so much for creating such a wonderful and special outdoor experience!!

We truly loved the trips, would recommend them to anyone, and hope to return to Moab someday to hike some new paths with you. Thanks for everything!"

Audrey Prins
New York City, NY

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Undercover Canyon ... April 26th, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"I have to say that the canyoneering trips were the best hiking trips I have ever done. I was nervous about the challenges, but I feel wonderful having "made it", albeit slowly!

I truly appreciate Matt and Steve's patience with a beginner like me. Josh and I definitely feel that the canyoneering helped us see the more remote and secluded--and beautiful--places in the area. Thanks so much for creating such a wonderful and special outdoor experience!!

We truly loved the trips, would recommend them to anyone, and hope to return to Moab someday to hike some new paths with you. Thanks for everything!"

Audrey Prins
New York City, NY

Lomatium Canyon ... April 19th, 2001
"My son and I had the BEST time hiking, climbing and rappelling with Ed. He is a fantastic guide and took us to beautiful, fun, scary and really cool places in the canyon. We were amazed at what we did on this trip and how much fun we had.

Ed did an amazing job of talking us through every step of the way - we never felt unsafe with him leading us through the canyon. It was, without a doubt, the best thing we did in Moab. We will be talking about this trip forever and will definitely do this again next time we are in Moab! We love telling everyone about the website and being able to show off the pictures of us on the trip. Thanks for a GREAT time!"

Deby & Joel
Chicago, IL

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Medieval Chamber ... April 10th, 2001

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"We had an absolutely FANTASTIC time with you guys! I could have hung out on a rope all week. I'm sure every trip is unique, but we had an especially great time. Courtney was great fun, Mike was a great guide, and the risk of inclement weather coming in on some sketchy areas gave me just the adrenaline rush I was searching for! When I'm back in the area (which may be sooner than later...) I'll be back for more!"

Melissa Marini
Boston, MA

Lomatium Canyon ... March 24th, 2001
"Hey Matt,

We just wanted you to know we had an UNBELIEVABLE time canyoneering in Lomatium with Ed. He is awesome!

We all felt empowered after all was said and done. We can't say enough about Ed. We all felt safe with him and his vast knowledge of the canyon and his ability as a guide. We also have a newfound respect for the ecosystem. The kids were even telling the grandparents about the ecosystem there, remembering the names of plants and systems within the sand.

The memories we gained from this canyoneering adventure will cling for our lifetimes. Thanks so much for offering this opportunity. We wish you all only the best! Don't be surprised if you see us again."

Sincerely,

Dan, Whit, Danika and Spencer Springob
Loveland, CO

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Medieval Chamber ... October 1st, 2000
"Matt and Ed,

When positioned on the edge of the arch about to rappel into the canyon 100+ feet below, AJ summarized the spirit of the trip by saying, "This is a real adrenaline rush."

Four of our group were first time rappellers and enjoyed their adventure tremendously. Z man couldn't believe that he actually completed these dramatic rappels. Michelle is ready for the next adventure. The trip with was beyond Allen and Randy's expectations. The group stayed up late into the night, discussing our trip with Ed. It was too difficult to sleep after all the excitement.

We all enjoyed the hospitality of Desert Highlights and are impressed with the wonderful skills that the guides have working with the first time rappellers."

Victoria Bond
Salt Lake City, UT

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... September 22nd, 2000

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hi Matt,

Thanks for a great weekend. Mary and I had a wonderful time.

Steve was an excellent guide. He was so familiar with the canyon, he created an adventure for everyone, with rests for those that needed them and more advanced climbing for those that wanted them. Food was great, gear was great."

Sara Ward
Salt Lake City, UT

Medieval Chamber ... September 16th, 2000

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

Send along our thanks to Steve. With his coaching my son overcame his fear of heights and the unknown descending two challenging rappels and the climbs out. City boy meets Moab red rock and the boy wins. He now has bragging rights for life. Nice change from just "saying no" to the challenges confronting a teenager."

Bill Metcalf
Tacoma, WA

Waterpocket Canyon ... September 14th, 2000
"Matt,

Thank you for the wonderful experience; my wife and I enjoyed this part of our vacation the most!"

Jason & Joey Campbell
Lewis Center, OH

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Picobo Canyon ... September 9th, 2000

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

Totally out of this world! From beginning to end, the trip was breathtaking. Ed was a fantastic guide; extremely knowledgeable and very friendly.

Thank you again for an incredible day in the backcountry of Moab!"

Richard Gaudet
Quebec City, Quebec

Lomatium Canyon ... July 25th, 2000
"Matt,

We had a wonderful experience in the canyon with our guide, Eve. She is a special person. The excitement and beauty was beyond words for this bunch of "Southern folks." The rappels were especially fun, but a little scary for the "old mom" in the bunch. Eve was very patient and taught us alot about the area and canyoneering.

Thanks again for a wonderful trip!"

The Kelley's
Birmingham, AL

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... July 20th, 2000

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

Thanks for a great trip. Steve was a great guide and helped us through the hard parts. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thanks for helping us see parts of Moab that we never could have by ourselves!"

Kathy Davia
New Castle, IN

Medieval Chamber ... July 14th, 2000
"Matt:

Just wanted to drop you a line and thank you for providing us with an experience that was a rush on many levels. Our trip into the Medieval Chamber was one of the coolest parts of our visit to Moab. The guides, Matt H and Steve, were extremely fun, knowledgable, and competent. We were in good hands.

Once again, thanks for a great time. I know of some other groups coming to Moab and I'll send them your way."

Chris Madsen
Las Vegas, NV

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... July 4th, 2000
"Dear Matt,

We had such a great time on our trip - If we ever get to Moab again, we will definitely go on another one! We loved the pictures on your website. Thanks loads."

The Clark Family
Deltona, FL

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Sun Dance Canyon ... July 1st, 2000
"Matt,

We are finally decompressing from our adventure in early July with Steve, Joe, Earl and you. Here we are, pushing fifty and forty, respectively, fighting the high tech wars, reflecting on a physical experience that was extraordinary.

Flying in a 4-seater single prop plane over a rugged landscape that is among the most beautiful I have ever seen (and I have traveled around the world). Landing on a road fifty miles from nowhere. Then taking a jeep another hour to really nowhere, passing the carcasses of bovines that didn't have guides as good as your's. And then the adventure begins. Five rappels, and one that should have been but wasn't. Narrow passes for which we had to take off our packs while we shimmied along 20 feet above the canyon floor. A twelve-hour hike including flash floods, hail and rainbows. Ascending up a 200-foot sheer cliff, then hiking 2 hours over moonscape to return to camp.

After a great meal, we then relaxed in the harmony of a challenge successfully completed. The sky was so beautiful that night I went to sleep with my glasses on, mesmerized by a sky so clear the center of the Milky Way was prominently displayed.

We're already planning next year's adventure."

Steve Abramson
Penn Valley, PA

Bruce Goldstein
Wynnewood, PA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... June 29th, 2000

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

You have outdone yourself, even with your broken leg.

Michele was once again a fabulous guide in a fabulous new place (Lomatium 06/29/2000), and the Maiden voyage into Sun Dance with Steve (07/01/2000) was nothing short of fantastic.

This was my third trip with you in less than a year, and we are already planning next year's outing. Can't wait. See ya."

Bruce Goldstein
Wynnewood, PA

Steve Abramson
Penn Valley, PA

Waterpocket Canyon ... May 11th, 2000
"Hi Matt,

We just got back from our trip to the southwest so this is the first chance I've gotten to tell you how much we enjoyed our trip to Waterpocket Canyon with Michele. It was the highlight of our month long trip.

I know we were a challenge with our ages and apprehensions but Michele was wonderful and the feeling that we had of overcoming our fears and knowing we did it is a once in a lifetime sensation. I would recommend your trips to any and everyone.

Thanks again and hi to Michele."

Kay McFarland and group
Nordland, WA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Medieval Chamber ... April 29th, 2000

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hey Matt,

You've got a tremendous guide in Earl. When we were heading to the trailhead that morning I was asking Earl about some of his climbing experiences. His stories kept us riveted (and amused!) and his gentle, patient manner - always upbeat - was much appreciated, especially when our asses were hanging out over the edge.

I'd recommend your company in a heart beat (and I already have to several of the people I work with here). I hope to be using your services again just as soon as I can find the vacation time to head back to Utah.

Thanks again for a wonderful trip!"

John Saxe
Lakewood, CO

Medieval Chamber ... March 29th, 2000
"Thanks again for the great trip.

We thoroughly enjoyed the job Earl did for us."

Bob Mecklenburg
Albuquerque, NM

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Undercover Canyon ... March 15, 2000
"Congratulations on just finding this place. It's a feat in itself. Undercover Canyon is a spectacular example of what Utah canyoneering is all about. Challenging route finding over slickrock slopes and cliffs to experience adventure in a stunningly beautiful and remote canyon. It has everything for the slot canyoneer fan, including free hanging rappels from dryfalls, chimney and spider walking between narrow slots that converge to a width less than your shoe, and an eye popping 150 foot rappel down from an overhang with an awesome view. All without seeing a single other soul, except the occasional crow or eagle.

I just completed a canyoneering course in Arizona a week after this trip, and I now have the technical knowledge to appreciate the backup belay systems and anchor techniques you used to assure a safe and enjoyable trip. Getting the guts to do your first 150 foot rappel doesn't come easy, and thanks to your guidance, I not only was able to overcome the initial fear and enjoy the descent. I became hooked and can't wait to descend even more remote, technical and beautiful canyons! I'm from Miami, and I see canyoneering as a lot like scuba diving. If you don't do it, you're missing out on truly experiencing a different world. Thanks for the adventure!"

Eugene Ahn
Salt Lake City, UT

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... March 9th, 2000

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Thanks again for the great trip. It was the "highlight" of our vacation. I am pleased to report that Jennifer is now bugging me daily to go vertical caving.

Thanks again and you'll be hearing from us when we come back to Moab."

Ryan Groat
South Lyon, MI

Undercover Canyon ... October 17th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

I enjoyed the trip to Undercover Canyon enormously. It was a wonderful way to discover one of the 'undiscovered' areas around Moab. The rappelling and scrambling were an exciting start to our holiday and combined with beautiful scenery and great company it made for an excellent day.

Thanks once again."

Judith Pollock
London, England

Medieval Chamber ... October 12th, 1999
"Matt:

I just checked out the pictures on your site from the canyoneering trip into Medieval Chamber last week. You and Michelle did a terrific job with every part of the trip. I can't wait to come West and try another rappel."

Jim Weisgerber
Washington, DC

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Undercover Canyon ... October 10th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hi Matt,

Just wanted to say that I had a lot of fun on the canyoneering trip. I've hiked down the side of the Grand Canyon before but it's just not the same as attaching yourself to a rope and walking backwards off of a canyon wall. I have to say that it was an awesome experience and I'd sure like to do it again!

We looked at your web site as soon as we got back to Saskatchewan and then I forwarded the URL to all of my friends whom I haven't seen for ages to let them know what I'd been up to. They definitely thought that it was pretty neat. One of them said something about us looking like 'intrepid explorers' and 'national geographicesque' :)

Thanks again."

Heather Hager
Regina, Saskatchewan

Medieval Chamber ... October 9th, 1999
"This desert area is spectacular. The special adaptations to the arid climate, like the cryptobiotic soil are wonderful. It gives dirt an entire new meaning.

I can't believe I'm letting my daughter rappel down a one hundred foot cliff.

'This is fun. I want to do it again' -- teenager daughter and friend.

Kevin likes to dangle, he couldn't stop laughing. I know he can't wait to show all his photographs. Everyone in our group had a great time and everyone wants to do a canyoneering trip again. Thanks again Matt."

Victoria Bond and Kevin Knutson
Salt Lake City, UT

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Medieval Chamber ... October 6th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

We were very pleased with the trip. So much so that we fully intend to explore another one of your offerings the next time we are in Moab.

We have spent a fair amount of time in Moab hiking and biking, but your trip provided a completely different view of the desert. The rappelling experience was a blast, but the whole experience was highlighted by the unique views and perspectives of this trail.

Thanks again."

Robert Miller & Karyn deKramer
Boise, ID

Waterpocket Canyon ... September 30th, 1999
"Hi Matt,

As novices, we had some concerns about the two rappels that you had in store for us. After an extremely refreshing dunk in the three pools on the way to our first drop, we were ready for anything. The day was exhilarating - to say the least!

Thank you so much for an unforgettable experience. Your guidance was expert, and your patience was great. We have already recommended you to friends who are planning a trip next year. Good luck, and thanks again!"

Tammy, Brad, Jackie & Larry
Phoenix, AZ & Chicago, IL

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... September 26th, 1999
"Hello Matt,

Our trip with Desert Highlights was our first Utah adventure. Your trip was so much fun, so exciting, the rest of our vacation adventures paled in comparison. Randi and I actually considered calling you the next day to do Medieval Chamber.

Randi and I always strive for at least one truly exciting and challenging adventure when we get together and head for the mountains. Last winter we finally learned how to parallel ski at Copper Mountain. The summer before that we summited Longs Peak and Mt. Elbert. This summer's trip into beautiful Lomatium Canyon exceeded our expectations for enjoyment, excitement and challenge. Your easy-to-get-along-with personality, your knowledge of the environment, and your technical climbing and roping skills gave us great confidence in our guide and contributed to a fantastic day.

I highly recommend Desert Highlights to anyone visiting the Moab area looking for fun and adventure. I can't think of a better way to intimately experience Moab's desert wonders. And that's no B.S. What a great time!"

Terry Herdman
Livonia, MI

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... September 19th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hey Matt,

Just wanted to thank you again for an incredible two days. We thoroughly enjoyed our Waterpocket and Lomatium (you mean not everyone gets caught in a flash flood?) excursions. We only wish we had more time to explore the rest of the destinations you offer.

Our relatives and friends can't believe what we did when we showed them the pictures. Thanks again for an unforgettable adventure."

Steve & Amy Waranauskas
Des Plaines, IL

Waterpocket Canyon ... September 16th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hey Matt,

Just wanted to thank you again for an incredible two days. We thoroughly enjoyed our Waterpocket and Lomatium (you mean not everyone gets caught in a flash flood?) excursions. We only wish we had more time to explore the rest of the destinations you offer.

Our relatives and friends can't believe what we did when we showed them the pictures. Thanks again for an unforgettable adventure."

Steve & Amy Waranauskas
Des Plaines, IL

Cass Canyon ... September 13th, 1999
"Matt,

We did the jeeping, mountain biking, hiking, kayaking and rafting. But for me, the best of all was the canyoning. There is a (northern) English saying of 'You don't get 'owt for nowt' (translation: you do not get anything for nothing). This is very true of the canyoning. It takes a bit of effort, but it is well worth it."

Andrew Jones
Brentwood, England

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... August 31st, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hiya Matt,

Thanks for an amazing trip. Canyoneering is definitely the way to get to see a different side of the Moab area.

Many thanks to you personally for making our trip an experience to remember. Your confidence, expertise and extremely calm nature made us all relax so that we could enjoy the rappels (which were fantastic!!).

Canyoneering through Lomatium Canyon is a wonderful memory and a definite highlight of our holiday. It was also an excellent way to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We are going to have a tough time next year finding something that will better this one! We WILL be doing another trip in the future, that is definite! All the best."

Peter and Sarah Sheffield
Charlottesville, VA

Medieval Chamber ... August 30th, 1999
"Hi Matt,

Just wanted to thank you for the wonderful trip in (and down and over) the mountains! We ate at the Rio that night. It was wonderful. The margaritas didn't effect us much, I think we were on a higher high from the rappelling! Thanks again!!

You're a wonderful guide. You made us all feel right at home."

Cindi (and Holli, and Karrie and Kathy)
Fort Lauderdale, FL

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Waterpocket Canyon ... August 26th, 1999
"Hey Matt...

No question...our trip was the highlight of our vacation. We will send you pictures. We were all extremely impressed with you and Michelle -- your knowledge, attitudes, preparation and spirit. The fact that both of you were able to get all 10 of us (especially the younger kids) to (literally and figuratively) dive in was amazing.

As I told you, our group approached this with a wide variety of levels of fear, trepidation, etc...but we all finished as enthusiastic as can be. And the kids...wow, what a boost to their confidence levels and egos.

Everyone we met after we left Moab knows about you -- I tried to send them all your way...and we will be back this spring..we should talk soon and start planning.

Thanks again -- Regards to Michelle."

Bruce Goldstein
Wynnewood, PA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Medieval Chamber ... August 16th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

Thanks again for an exceptional day that Katie, Suzie and I will never forget (especially Suzie)!

I have visited popular spots in Arches and Canyonlands several times in past years, but I always wanted to explore the hidden canyons of the Moab area. The hiking was spectacular, the rappelling was outrageous and your guiding skills were top notch. I think I asked you about 250 questions that day and you knew the answer to every damn one. Maybe I'll stump you next time.

Thanks for the photos, the stories that we can tell our office-bound friends and making sure that we had a total blast in Moab!"

Paul de Labry
Norwalk, CT

Medieval Chamber ... August 5th, 1999
"Hi Matt,

We had a great time out there with you, exploring the heights and the depths of the mysterious Medieval Chamber. What a thrill it was to make our first rappel into the darkness below. Hiking across the rocks without a trail was spectacular too - especially when we spotted a Great Horned Owl perched close to us.

The second rappel was absolutely the scariest thing I've ever done, edging off the craggy top of an enormous arch high above nothing. Somehow you made us all feel brave and confident. For the kids it was a breeze.

Thank you for the fantastic adventure. It was a day we'll always remember!"

The Kathrein Family
Marge, Reed, Jonathan (Shark Man), Michael and Eric
San Rafael, CA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... July 18rd, 1999
"Matt,

My entire family, ages 10 to 53, enjoyed the entire adventure enormously. None of us had ever done this before but we felt at ease & confident because of your manner and obvious expertise. You were good with the kids and constantly gave positive reinforcement to all.

We enjoyed your company, your courtesy, your lunch and your warm and friendly demeanor. But most of all, Matt, we sensed your savvy and knowledge of the techniques and inherent risks of canyoneering and it made us comfortable."

The Curci Family
Joe, Greg, Brian, Chris & Lauren
Doylestown, PA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Medieval Chamber ... July 9th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

First of all..... it was a phenomenal trip. We had the best time on it and it was the highlight of my trip to Utah (Park City and Moab). If I ever hear of anyone I know heading out that way, I am going to try to steer them your way. Just can't say enough about it.

Thanks again for a great time!"

Kevin & Nancy
New York, NY




"Hi Matt,

Thanks for a great trip. Rich and I haven't stopped talking about it yet. The drop into Medieval Chamber and again over the arch were spectacular, and even though I was a bit apprehensive, I would do it again in a heartbeat given the opportunity. Your patience and coaching helped both Rich and I feel that we were in good hands for our rappelling adventure.

Thanks again for a great trip. It really topped off our adventure vacation of rafting!"

Pamela & Rich Johnson
Van Horne, IA

Cass Canyon ... July 3rd, 1999
"Hey Matt,

Thanks again for a wonderful trip. The canyon was by far the best part of our vacation. It's a great feeling when you can go someplace not many people visit. Your knowledge and skill were greatly appreciated.

On behalf of Jackie, Tara and Chad thanks so much for a great time. Not only are you an excellent guide, you're also a great guy, too. We're looking forward to another trip in the future."

Mike W.
Denver, CO

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Lomatium Canyon ... June 25th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Matt,

Have not stopped talking about our trip to Moab since we have gotten home. Needless to say your canyoneering trip into Lomatium Canyon was the best.

Mary Ann was very apprehensive about this phase of our trip but you made her feel very at ease with your humour, patience and positive reinforcement. She is ready to go again.

What more can you say. Thanks for the great trip. If we had had more time we would have gone on another trip with you. We were glad we saved this for last as it was the best!"

Jerry, Mary Ann, and Jerry Jr.
Fort Washington, PA

Medieval Chamber ... June 24th, 1999
"Matt,

Without a doubt, our canyoneering trip was the highlight of our trip to the Moab area. And with all of the wonderful things to do in the Moab area that is a huge compliment. Not only was the Medieval Chamber a thrill, it was also absolutely beautiful. Our simultaneous free rappel off the arch is a memory that will last a lifetime.

Finally, your knowledge, skills, sense of humor and most importantly patience as a guide were most appreciated on four beginners.

On behalf of Cari, Annie and Brian, thanks for a truly incredible experience."

Stephen DiTullio
Middleton, WI

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Waterpocket Canyon ... June 14th, 1999
"Hey Matt,

I have climbed mountains in Austria and Seattle. I have been white water rafting, kayaking and all sorts of adventure activities but nothing compares with the excitement and complete enjoyment that I had while canyoneering. I would also like to thank you, Matt, for not only your guidance through the canyons but your insightfulness on the environment and canyoneering techniques.

If any father is looking for a way to connect with his teenage child this adventure is a sure thing. Thanks again Matt and I will contact you again."

Dave S.
Seattle, WA

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Medieval Chamber ... June 6th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Hi Matt,

Thanks again for a great trip. It was by far the highlight of our vacation. The scenery was spectacular and the journey was way cool. We certainly felt very safe doing the canyoneering.

Matt explained everything to us in detail. We never felt like we were doing something beyond our limits. The grub provided was great too. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone seeking some adventure."

Heidi & Russ Turbill
Manchester, NH

Lomatium Canyon ... May 15th, 1999
"Dear Matt,

Kurt and I both wanted to thank you for the wonderful trip we had into Lomatium Canyon. As we came home that evening, we both agreed that this had been the best adventure trip we'd gone on. As you know, we've been everywhere from the Caribbean to Canada to Europe, but although it was just one day this beat them all! It was a combination of enjoying nature's beauty and experiencing an exhilarating new challenge. The views inside the canyon were breathtaking and the rappels were exciting. But what made us truly enjoy ourselves was your patient approach and solid climbing skills. These not only gave us the confidence to try something new, but also the assurance that we were in the hands of a professional.

Thanks again! Hope to see you soon. We've already recommended your company to all of our friends!"

Christa and Kurt Johnson
Evergreen, CO

Click here to view all the images from this trip

Behind the Rocks ... May 10th, 1999

Click here to view all the images from this trip
"Because of Matt's knowledge of the area we were able to hike to places that we would never have found on our own to see arches, petroglyphs and spectacular scenery.

Matt helped us plan in advance the areas we should visit. He tailored the trip to our interests and did not exceed our capabilities.

The spot he picked out to stop for lunch was beautiful enough to be suitable as a movie location."

Barbara & Paul
Chicago, IL